Ido Local Government was established in May, 1989 with its headquarters located at Ido Town, a recognized settlement of Ibadan land.
History has it that the first settlers were part of the Yoruba Warlords who established and formed Ibadan lands around 15th Century, meanwhile the Local Government was divided into two (2) whereby Omi-Apata Local Council Development Area (LCDA) was carved out.
It shares boundaries with Oluyole, Ibarapa East, Akinyele, Ibadan North, Ibadan North West and Ibadan South West Local Governments in Oyo State and Odeda Local Government in Ogun State.
With the Local Government occupying derived Savanna area, it has a landmass of about 1,016.95 square kilometres of good soil formation suitable for farming as not less than 65% of the population engage in agricultural activities ranging from animal husbandry, Arable cropping, cash crop production as well as other Agro-Allied activities.
The remaining part of the population are Artisans, Manufacturing and various Economic engagement.
Ido Local Government has Thirty-Seven (37) Primary and Nine (9) Public Secondary Schools.


The Local Government has more than over 900 communities spread across the length and breadth of the blessed land, few of which are listed below:-
Ido, Apete, Ologuneru, Omi-Adio, Apata, Awotan, Elere, Akinwaare,
Akindele, Ilaju, Odetola, Araromi-Idowu, Akufo, Aba-Panu, Gbopa,
Gbekuba, Ogundele-Alaho, Ladunni, Erinwusi, Bakatari (boundary
with Ogun State). Elenusonso, Onidoko, Elebu, Idi-igbaro, Aba-Eemo,
Alafara, Alada, Batake, Idi-Iya, Alako,Dagilogba, Bode-Igbo, Olokogbooro,
Arola, Olonde, Ile-Titun, Kusenla, Owode Estate, etc.


A total population of 103,261 with 51,750 males and 51,511 female is recorded for Ido Local Government in 2006 National Population Census. The population has a growth rate of 3.4%risen to 123,549 people as at 2012 National Population Commission projection with 116 persons/m2.


The Local Government has six (6) wards, namely:-
Ward 1 – Ilaju
Ward 2 – Akufo
Ward 3 – Akinwaare
Ward 4 – Apete
Ward 5 – Idi-Iya
Ward 6 – Erinwusi